Sunday, December 21, 2008

Malibu Stakes Begins Strub Series at Santa Anita Park

Kingsbury Fountain at entrance to Santa Anita Park.

The $250,000 Malibu Stakes on Santa Anita's Opening Day, December 26, kicks off the Strub Series, an important racing tradition at Santa Anita Park for more than 50 years. The series consists of three races for newly-turned 4-year-olds held over several weeks during the first two months of the winter/spring meet. The series begins with the 7-furlong Malibu Stakes, followed by the San Fernando Stakes at 1-1/16 miles on January 17, and culminates on February 7 with the Strub Stakes at 1-1/8 miles.

The Strub Stakes was inaugurated in 1948 as the Santa Anita Maturity. The name was changed to the Charles H. Strub Stakes in 1963 in honor of the man who built and owned the present-day Santa Anita Park, and the name was shortened to the Strub Stakes in 1994.

From 1960-1997, the San Fernando was contested at 1-1/8 miles. From 1948-1969 and 1971-1997, the Strub Stakes was contested at 1-1/4 miles.

Only five horses have ever won all three legs of the Strub Series: Round Table (1958), Hillsdale (1959), Ancient Title (1974), Spectacular Bid (1980), and Precisionist (1985).

1 comment:

Alfredo said...

The Malibu is probably the only race in the Strub Series that still maintains it stature. The San Fernando and the Strub have lost much of their lustre.

The creation of the Sunshine Millions has really changed the SoCal racing calendar. This year it takes place on Jan 24, right between the second and third legs of the Strub Series. That is probably the biggest issue I have with the current ownership group. Seems like every year the San Fernando and Strub lose key players as owners and trainers focus CA and FL breds on a more lucrative target on the racing schedule. The fields of this very unique series are no longer as deep or talented as before the creation of the Millions.

Post a Comment